Darkness Falls: the Thirst, teaser

I walked through the dark forest, the tall trees masking any light that the moon could give off. I crouched as I made my way under a few low branches and I crossed into a patch of thick fog. I moved my eyes around. He was near. I could feel him. I could smell him. He was watching me like he always was. I couldn’t see him. I had no idea where he was. I just knew he was there. I looked to my right as a bird flew from one of the trees.
    “Hello Randi.” I could hear the smile in his voice.
    “What do you want?” I asked.
    “My, my,” he said, “what kind of greeting is that?”
    “Who are you?” I asked, turning my head to look to my left.
    “And, just who are you?” He asked.
    I glanced around me. No one was anywhere near me. Just the fog that was beginning to settle around me like a thick black, the trees and a lazy owl who was hooting in the branches above my head.
    “Where are you?” I asked, turning around to look behind me.
    I heard him let out a low laugh, “I’m some place that I can see you very well my dear.” He said.
    “And, where is that?” I asked, spinning around, looking in another direction.
    “Closer than you think.” He replied.
    “How do I know you?” I asked.
    “We’ll just say,” he paused. “Through a very close friend,” I could hear the smile in his voice as he spoke.
    I made a strange face, trying to think, “How close?”
    “He was very close to you, my dear,” he said, “You think you would remember such things.”
    “Who is he?” I asked.
    “That, my dear, is for me to know and you to find out.” He replied in a smooth voice.

One response to “Darkness Falls: the Thirst, teaser

  1. Nice piece, 1st I’ve read of yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

