Sneak Peek: Part Quatre

I drifted around aimlessly, unsure of where I was going, glancing at stone after stone. I stumbled upon a small pond. The water was murky and still. A frog croaked lazily on a lily pad in the center. I knelt down, dipping my hand in the water. It was cold. I pulled my hand out, wiping it on my jeans. I peered down, and I could see a few tadpoles floating around. I stood to venture to the other side of the graveyard. Then it hit me. Or, I hit it. Hard. I fell back to the ground. Letting out a yelp, I looked up.
 
“Are you ok?” he asked, extending his hand.“I – I’m.” I stammered, looking into his luminous blue eyes. His black hair. His fine white skin.
 
 
“Here, let me help you.” he said, reaching down for my hand.

I hesitated, and then took his hand as he lifted me to my feet. I smiled. “I’m sorry, I thought I was alone.” I couldn’t help but stare. Those eyes, his smile. He was tall. Toned. He sent a shiver down my spine.

He smiled. “I’m Xavier.” He paused. “Xavier Brighton.”

“Randi Marshall,” I said, feeling my heart-beat begin to race.

He was gorgeous. I could feel my cheeks flushing as I stared at him. I stared long and hard. His black tee shirt was perfectly fitted, showing muscle definition. His dark jeans somehow hugged him in all the right places but fell loosely over his tennis shoes. I could feel more heat radiating from my face.

“Are you alright, Randi?” he asked, beaming, “You didn’t get hurt, did you?” He took a moment to look me over.

His smile made me weak in the knees. I took a moment to dust any remaining dirt and grass off. “Yeah, I’m fine.” I blushed. I was blushing. Twenty-five years old, and a man was making me blush. I felt like I was sixteen and unable to control myself. Any minute and I could see myself bursting into laughter for no reason at all. I bit down on my lip in an attempt to prevent myself from doing something stupid.

Copyright Trista Jaszczak © 2010. All rights reserved. All materials on the site are owned by Trista Jaszczak. Author permission is required to copy or reproduce.

 

4 responses to “Sneak Peek: Part Quatre

  1. Brilliant! I love this!

  2. Oh Trista, you got me from the start with frog and tadpoles. Smile.

  3. Your favorite stalker

    Sometimes I sit here
    And I see your pretty face
    I am eating cheese

  4. DeeDee (ur ohio buddy)

    wow! if u let me play a roll i wanna be randi! lol love ya girl!!!

Leave a Reply

