What does a writer read?

I’ve never actually been asked this before. Until now.

One look at my book shelves and you might be frightened. I have so many different authors from all walks.

I just like to read. And, I’ll read anything you put in front of me.

I do have the Twilight series, I also have read the Sookie Stackhouse series. I love Anne Rice, Stephen King, James Patterson, Meg Cabot, Tonya Hurley, Nicholas Sparks, Sophie Kinsella…I have shelves filled and honestly some authors I can’t remember well right now.

I fell in love with Sophie Kinsella after reading Can You Keep a Secret? I laughed so hard I cried and I read the book in one shot just because I wanted to know what happened. Then I moved on to the Confessions of a Shopaholic series. Whenever I need a good laugh, I can always find it in these books.

Anne Rice…I don’t even need to write much here. Anne Rice.

Same with Stephen King. My all time favorite has always been Christine. I don’t know what it was about that one that I always loved so much.

Meg Cabot…ah, the Princess Diaries. I sort of saw myself in Mia. I was THAT girl in high school carrying the notebook around and scribbing thoughts in it. Thoughts of which have became the Darkness Falls series today.

James Patterson, I first started reading his work when I saw the Women’s Murder Club books. I then I was sucked into the Alex Cross series. My newest love…Witch & Wizard. I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for the second to come out this October!

Janet Evanovich. The Stephanie Plum series is my favorite…but I am getting into more of her books that verge off from the series.

Childish yes, but the Goosebumps series when I was a kid. I remember hiding under the covers with a flashlight just to see what happened next. Every now and then, I’ll still pick one of those R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps and read through it.

I could probably go on for hours with this one…matter a fact, I know I can. Of course, I’ll always take suggestions. I will read anything!

Leave a Reply

