Another new edition to my collection of manuscripts

Another blurp from a romance. Again, still working on fine tuning my romantic writing skills. Let me know what you think.

Happy reading!

I pulled from the drive through slowly making one feeble attempt to unwrap and get a bite of my Jr. bacon cheeseburger. In the process I managed to not only dribble some Coke down into my cup holder but also lost a handful of fries to my floor board. I groaned, making a reach for some of the runaway fries. Completely useless. I grabbed a napkin from the bag cleaning up some of the Coke that had run down the side of my cup holder. Could I eat something without making a mess? I sat the burger in my lap attempting to drive with one hand while cleaning up my disaster of thrown fries and dripping pop. I made a few swerves in the road but quickly corrected myself. I tossed the soaked napkin in the bag only to have my burger slide from my leg to the floor. I groaned loudly jerking the steering wheel making my Jeep veer off to the right. I should have seen it coming. The flashing red and blue lights behind me. I let out a long, exaggerated sigh as I pulled to the side of the road, yanking my shifter into park.

I watched as I saw the black uniform climb from his car and walk toward me. I rolled my eyes, I should have known this would happen. After a night, more like week like this, I should have known. I couldn’t help but wonder how much damage the ticket would do to my credit card.

“Hi there miss,” the officer said, his voice deep but soft, “do you know why I pulled you over?”

I groaned loudly, slamming my head on the steering wheel, “I was driving erratically, I stopped for food,” I pointed to the Wendy’s bag, “my roommate is a whore who just so happens to be a pig. Not only did she eat all my groceries but she and her newest boy toy have been having sex for the past three weeks. I don’t sleep, I had nothing to eat, I can’t study, God knows I’ll fail English Lit,” I took a breath, “today was the first time I’ve been able to even shower because of her,” I looked up at him, “it’s been three days, I hate using the shower at the gym because the guys who go to the gym are pigs and I’m tired of having my every move watched and Lord knows they probably have cameras in the ladies shower room,” I took yet another breath, “I’m so tired, I spilled my pop, dumped my fries, oh and my Jr. bacon cheeseburger is in at least two pieces in the floor and I’m pretty sure I’m wearing ketchup.” My mouth dropped, I could feel my eyes grow wide as I looked at his face. He was using everything he had to fight laughing.

“Bad night?” He smiled.

I leaned my head forward again, “bad month.” I replied.

He grinned, squatting by the car, “as bad as I hate to do this, I do need to see your license, registration and proof of insurance.”

In nodded, reaching for my purse which ironically was upside down. All the contents, including half a box of loose tampons fell out. I let out another groan as I picked up my wallet plucking out my license. I leaned forward, my belongings now tumbling to the floor as I grabbed my registration and insurance card from my glove box. I noticed the officer was now biting down on his lip as he took them from me.

“Sit tight,” he told me, “I’ll be right back.”

I nodded, placing my forehead back on the steering wheel. I was too afraid to go anywhere, God knows what might happen next.

When he returned, he bent down to look at me, “can I ask you to step out of the vehicle?”

I nodded and open my door, just as I let my leg over the side to pull myself out, I nearly choked. I’d forgotten to undo my seat belt. I hung my head low, “I swear I’m not drunk.”

He laughed, “you really aren’t having a great night, are you?”

I shook my head, “you have no idea.” I reached behind me releasing the seat belt so that I could stand outside the car. I looked up at the officer who I now saw was about 6” maybe a few inches taller.

“I’m just going to ask you to do one thing,” he told me, “I want you to come over here.”

I interrupted him, “please, for the love of everything good, don’t make me try to walk in a straight line.”

He laughed, “no, I just want you to do a breathalyzer.”

“Oh,” I said, as he held a little machine up to my mouth. I leaned forward wrapping my lips around the plastic mouth piece giving it a good breath of air. The machine beeped loudly after a few seconds.

He smiled, “definitely no alcohol, just one bad night.”

I nodded, “and not only am I still starving, I nearly hung myself with my seat belt, you’ve seen everything in my purse but now you know way too much about me.”

“And, not that it helps, but I know who you are and where you live.” He smiled, showing his perfect set of white teeth again.

I shook my head, “I am so sorry.”

“Well,” he said, “given what I’ve seen, I couldn’t imagine what happened before I got here,” he told me, “I’m going to let you go with a warning,” he said, “next time, no eating and driving, just park somewhere.”

Leave a Reply

